## **BILL SUMMARY** 2<sup>nd</sup> Session of the 58<sup>th</sup> Legislature

Bill No.:	HB 4118			
Version:	Proposed Subcommittee Substitute 1			
Request Number: 10637				
Author:	Rep. Hasenbeck			
Date:	3/9/2022			
<b>Impact: FY-23</b> = \$5,863,371 appropriations increase				

## **Research Analysis**

The subcommittee substitute to HB 4118 provides that beginning in fiscal year 2023, each court reporter is to receive an annual salary of \$53,000. The measure also provides that beginning in fiscal year 2023, each secretary-bailiff is to receive an annual salary of \$42,000.

Prepared By: Brad Wolgamott

## **Fiscal Analysis**

The first proposed subcommittee substitute would provide a salary of \$53,000 to court reporters regularly employed by district courts, the Workers' Compensation Court of Existing Claims, and the Corporation Commission. The new salary would be effective July 1st, 2022.

Agency	Court Reporter Positions	Salary Increase Costs	Mandatory Employer Costs	Total Impact to Agency
Corporation	7	\$43,898	\$54,501	\$98,399
Commission				
District	192	\$2,637,849	\$744,127	\$3,381,976
Courts				
Court of	1	Above \$53,000	N/A	N/A
Existing Claims*				
	\$3,480,375			

The table below shows the impact to each agency.

\*Agency funded pursuant to 85A O.S. § 122 (D.1.)

After consultation with the agencies, the costs for the District Courts and the Corporation Commission would require additional appropriations to absorb. The cost for the Court of Existing Claims would be absorbable within existing budgetary resources.

The first proposed subcommittee substitute would also provide a salary of \$42,000 for secretary bailiffs. After consultation with the Administrative Office of the Courts, this provision would have a total impact of \$2,382,996, which includes a salary cost of \$1,915,900 and a mandatory benefits cost of \$467,096. This is based on 196 budgeted secretary bailiff positions.

The total impact of the measure would thus be \$5,863,371.

Prepared By: Clayton Mayfield

## **Other Considerations**

None.

© 2021 Oklahoma House of Representatives, see Copyright Notice at <u>www.okhouse.gov</u>